August 1, 2014

NASCAR: Jeff Gordon wins record fifth Brickyard 400


  (PhatzRadio / AP) — INDIANAPOLIS — With a tinge of gray hair at his temples, his hat on backward and his two young children by his side, Jeff Gordon celebrated as if he was 23 years old again. Gordon won a NASCAR-record fifth Brickyard 400 on Sunday, eight days before his 43rd birthday and [...]

NASCAR: Ty Dillon wins at Indy for first career Nationwide victory


    (PhatzRadio / USA Today)     —    INDIANAPOLIS — Kyle Busch looked like he had been punched again by Richard Childress. Whatever the reason for his disgusted demeanor, Busch was bristling after losing Saturday’s NASCAR Lilly Diabetes 250 to Nationwide Series rookie Ty Dillon. Perhaps the prickly nature had to do with finishing second to [...]

NASCAR: Keselowski dominates in victory at New Hampshire


    LOUDON, N.H. (AP) — Brad Keselowski hopped out of his car and grabbed an oversized broom to give a playful sweep of all the confetti already collected around his Ford. He then truly savored his victory, snagging a New England lobster and raising it in triumph. Keselowski survived without a cut, splinter or [...]

NASCAR: Brad Keselowski wins Nationwide race at New Hampshire


    LOUDON, N.H. (AP) — Brad Keselowski had a couple of impressive performances at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It’s the victory celebration that again gave him fits. Keselowski topped all the fields Saturday, including a dominant run in his Nationwide Series victory. Keselowski also led the speed charts during both Sprint Cup practices. Throw [...]

NASCAR: Kyle Busch bests Jimmie Johnson for New Hampshire pole


    (PhatzRadio / USA Today)    —    LOUDON, N.H. — Kyle Busch captured his second pole of the season and first at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, setting a qualifying record with a 138.130 mph in his No. 18 Toyota. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver will start first ahead of Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart [...]

Gilliland lands pole for Coke Zero 400 following wild qualifying session

      (PhatzRadio / AP)    —   DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — David Gilliland might have summed up Daytona qualifying best. “It’s uncontrolled chaos out there,” Gilliland said Friday after landing the pole in a rain-shortened and somewhat hairy session that set the field for the Coke Zero 400 tonight at Daytona International Speedway. Gilliland’s top [...]

NASCAR: Keselowski’s track record earns Kentucky pole


  SPARTA, Ky. (AP) — Brad Keselowski couldn’t stick around long to discuss his track-record pole speed for Saturday night’s Sprint Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway. After all, he had to jump in another Ford he drove to the pole for Friday night’s Nationwide Series race just hours before. It was that kind of [...]

NASCAR: A look at Michigan International Speedway


    (PhatzRadio / FanSided)     —-    This weekend, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to Brooklyn, Mich., for Sunday’s Quicken Loans 400 at Michigan International Speedway. For many drivers, this weekend provides an opportunity to break into the win column to increase their chances at getting into the 16-driver Chase for the Sprint Cup championship [...]

NASCAR: Denny Hamlin wins Pocono 400 pole


  (PhatzRadio / AP)    —    LONG POND, Pa. – Denny Hamlin, four times a winner at Pocono Raceway, won the pole position Friday for Sunday’s Pocono 400 Sprint Cup race at the 2.5-mile track. Hamlin sprinted to the top of the qualifying chart with less than a minute remaining in the final session of time [...]

NASCAR: Kyle Busch adds Dover Nationwide win to Trucks victory


    DOVER, Del. (AP) — Kyle Busch heard the critics who said he was too good, too dominant, too loaded with the best equipment to keep dropping down levels and routinely romping his way toward victories. His response from Victory Lane, too bad. Busch raced to his second victory of the weekend at Dover, [...]